Subject Librarians:
Dr. Florence Jumonville, fjumonvi@uno.edu, 504.280.7275; Sybil
Boudreaux, sboudrea@uno.edu
Be sure and consult the Subject
Guides for the general topic(s) you are interested in, including,
but not limited to, Business,
History,
English
(Literature), Political
Science, Music,
or Geology.
These will direct you to other resources that contain information on
specific Louisiana-related individuals and topics.
Below are some
additional resources of particular help to those working on Louisiana
Subjects. Those in blue
lettering are linked to electronic resources you can use online,
including some with access to full-text articles or links to other digital
resources. The others with call numbers in bold can
be found in the Louisiana & Special Collections Reading Room on
the fourth floor of the library.
Indexes
and Bibliographies | UNO Publications | Digital Resources | Biographical
Resources
Encyclopedias
& Dictionaries |
Handbooks
& Directories | Government
Resources
Indexes
& Bibliographies
Find articles and books relating to Louisiana subjects, both current
and historical.
- UNO Manuscript and Archival Collections by Subject
This thumbnail guide will help you identify individual collections from our holdings pertinent to your research interests. Finding aids for most collections can be found in the Louisiana and Special Collections Reading Room in the fourth-floor of the library.
- Bayou State Periodical Index
Indexes articles in over 80 periodicals relating to Louisiana, 1985
- present (varies by title).
-
LexisNexis Academic: News
Click on "sources" tab. In the Filter by section, select Country: United States; Region: Southeast. Then click on the folder labeled "news." Check off "Louisiana
News Sources" to get full-text access to The Advocate
(Baton Rouge; 1994-Present), Times-Picayune (New Orleans;
1991-Present), CityBusiness North Shore Report and New
Orleans CityBusiness (2002-Present).
- LexisNexis Academic: Legal Research
Includes full-text articles from Louisiana law reviews and legal news
sources, state and federal court decisions, Louisiana codes and regulations,
patent database, and legal directories. This is especially useful
for searching the decisions of the Louisiana Supreme Court in order
access their case files in our collection from 1813 through 1920.
-
Index to the Louisiana Historical Quarterly (1917-1972)
F 366 .L792; F 366 .L793. Compiled by Boyd Cruise
this volume is indispensable for mining the rich contents of this
venerable publication. A supplement compiled by Kenneth E. Owens is
also available.
- Louisiana
History (1960-Present)
F 366 .L623 While the Bayou State Periodical Index
captures basic citation information on this title from recent years,
each volume contains a more thorough index of its contents. Periodically
issues cumulative indexes covering a range of volumes (Vols. 1-25;
26-30; 31-35).
- Louisiana
History: An Annotated Bibliography (2002)
F369 .Z99 J85 2002 Our own Dr. Florence Jumonville
has compiled this most recent and most thorough guide to printed resources
on Louisiana history and culture.
-
The Louisiana Purchase Bicentennial Series in Louisiana History
(20 vols. planned)
F366 .L89 This monumental compilation reprints the
best modern scholarly research on Louisiana history and culture into
thematically arranged volumes. Browse the shelves or use our iLink
catalog to identify the individual volumes.
- UNO
Faculty Authors Collection
We are collecting all the works published by university faculty members
and this site gives a comprehensive list of all the works we have
obtained so far, including their call numbers. These works can all
be requested and used in the Louisiana & Special Collections Reading
Room on the fourth floor of the library.
- Regional Business News
Among the titles indexed and accessible is New Orleans CityBusiness
(abstracts 1994-Present; full text 1996-Present).
UNO Publications
Find reports and publications created by UNO departments and faculty.
- Survey
Research Center: Online reports of public opinion polls conducted
from 1996 to the present by this division of the Political Science Department,
headed by Dr. Susan Howell. Most available in MSWord format.
- Departement
of Economics and Finance Working Papers: Research dating back to
1997, some of it available in PDF format. Print versions are available
in the Louisiana Collection on the fourth floor, arranged by report
number under the call number HC 21.E45.
- Division
of Business and Economic Research: Research studies and periodicals
created by the College of Business.
- Division
of Urban Research and Policy Studies (DURPS): Citations for working
papers created by the College of Urban and Public Affairs (CUPA) since
1990. Copies are located in the Louisiana Collection Reading Room on
the fourth floor, shelved using the call number HT 168.N4 W67,
and then by the report number.
Digital Resources
These sites will help you find and use online digital materials relating
to Louisiana, including photographs, maps, video, audio files, as well
as some texts.
- OAIster
A new reference tool from the University of Michigan Digital Library
Production Services that harvests metadata describing freely-available,
academically oriented digital resources and links you directly to
them. Contents include nearly 1.5 million items (photographs, books,
maps, video) from nearly 200 institutions world-wide, including the
Library of Congress' American Memory collection.
- LOUISiana Digital Library
This site, maintained by the LOUIS Louisiana Library Network, collects
digital objects from universities, museums, and research centers throughout
the state and offers them in one searchable location.
- Digital
Sanborn Maps
This collection of detailed historical maps of Louisiana cities, created
by the Sanborn Map Company between 1885-1950, includes information
such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction
materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows
and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths,
property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
- LouisianaMAP
This site allows anyone--state officials, academics, and the general
public--"to interactively create, view, and print high-quality
maps for any location within Louisiana. Geographic data managed and
maintained by local, state, and federal agencies have been combined
to enable YOU to create easily create and print your own maps of Louisiana
- for FREE."
- U. S.
Army Corps of Engineers, New Orleans District, Geospatial Data
This site has links to maps and data useful to geologists, archaeologists,
and historians for the entire southern half of Louisiana (roughly
everything south of Natchez, MS). Besides historic hydrographic survey
books of the Mississippi River (1883-1992) and the Atchafalaya River
(1967-1989), this site offers maps on a host of former and current
projects. Some require special software that is freely available to
download and view.
- Maps
of New Orleans
Historic maps of New Orleans (1856-1908) freely accessible through
RootsWeb.com.
Biographical
Resources
- A Dictionary
of Louisiana Biography (1988; Ten-Year Supplement 1998)
La Col Ref F 368 .D48 1988; Suppl An excellent place
to start any search for biographical information on deceased figures
in Louisiana history. Each entry includes a concise summary of known
and pertinent biographical detail as well as the sources used for
further research.
- The
Governors of Louisiana
This site, maintained by the Louisiana Secretary of State's Old State
Capitol Center for Political and Governmental History, contains biographical
sketches and portraits of each governor, as well as sample recordings
of their speeches.
- The
Louisiana Governors: From Iberville to Edwards (1990)
F368 .L68 1990 A collection of scholarly essays
on each governor by historians that give detailed accounts of their
lives and terms, as well as bibliographies for further research.
- Biographical
Directory of the United States Congress (1774-Present)
This site, maintained by the U. S. Congress, offers a wealth of information
on all members since the Continental Congress. Entries can include
portraits, biographical sketch, extended bibliography, and a list
of institutions that possess primary research materials related to
the individual.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- The Encyclopedia of Louisiana (1999)
La Col Ref F 367 .E54 1999.
A general reference source on Louisiana history and culture.
- Louisiana
Almanac
La Col Ref F 366 .L648. A source of general and statistical
information on Louisiana.
-
A Dictionary of the Cajun Language (1984)
La Col Ref PC 3680 .U7 L728 1984. Compiled by Rev.
Jules Daigle, this dictionary is divided into English/Cajun and Cajun/English
sections.
Handbooks & Directories
- Louisiana City Directories
An online list of the city directories (primarily New Orleans) we
have in our collection. Those listed in the Louisiana & Special
Collections Reading Room (4th floor) are hardbound while those in
the Multimedia Collection (3rd floor) are on microfilm or microfiche.
- Louisiana International
Trade Directory
You can search this directory online to find local companies involved in international trade.
- Directory
of Louisiana Manufacturers
La Col Ref T12 .D537
- D&B
Regional Business Directory
La Col Ref HG4058.N4 D86
- Thomas
Regional Industrial Buying Guide: Texas/Louisiana Gulf Coast
La Col Ref HF5065.T4 T43
Government Resources
- Louisiana.gov
The new official web site for the state, this page has links to state
agencies and services, as well as an "Ask Louise" search engine
and a link to LouisianaMAP, the state's online GPS mapping system. Their Announcements
and Publications page offers the best guide and links to online
documents created by the various state agencies.
- Census
Data for the State of Louisiana
The most general data tables on the state from the U.S. Census Bureau
for the 1990 and 2000 enumerations, available in Excel of PDF formats.
You can also follow the link to the American
FactFinder site to get even more detailed census data for specific
areas, down to the block level.
- Municipal
Code Corporation
Online codes for over 500 locales, including many Louisiana cities (e.g.
New Orleans, Kenner, Covington) and parishes (e.g. Jefferson, St. Bernard,
St. Charles, and Tangipahoa).
|